Drunk driving poses a significant risk to your safety and other road users. It is why repeat offenders tend to get stiffer penalties to deter future occurrences and keep drunk drivers off the roads. The situation is no different in Ohio.
While a second operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI) offense is considered a misdemeanor in Ohio, it does not mean you will get off easy if convicted. You risk facing a raft of legal sanctions, including mandatory time in jail. Here is what you need about the potential penalties if you are a second-time offender.
What the law in Ohio says about a second-time OVI
The circumstances of your OVI will determine the penalties you may face if convicted. For instance, if you plead guilty or are convicted of OVI for a second time within ten years, you may face the following legal penalties:
- A mandatory jail term of 10 days
- A term of house arrest with electronic monitoring and continuous alcohol monitoring
- A fine ranging from $525 to $1,625
- A license suspension of one to seven years
- Additional points to your driving license
- Vehicle immobilization and impoundment of the license plate for 90 days, among others
Keep in mind that certain factors, such as a high blood alcohol concentration level or refusing to submit to chemical tests, can enhance the above penalties.
Are you a repeat OVI offender?
So much is at stake if convicted of a subsequent OVI in Ohio. Besides losing your freedom, you will also have to deal with increased insurance costs and damage to your reputation, among other undesirable consequences.
The good news is that OVI charges are not infallible, and a conviction is not guaranteed. Having the proper legal guidance about your defense will significantly increase the chances of a favorable verdict.